Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Pritzker Winner Eduardo Souto de Moura Honored with Israel’s Prestigious Wolf Prize
Posted: Thursday, January 03, 2013 |

Portuguese architect and 2011 Pritzker Prize winner Eduardo Souto de Moura was announced today as one of this year's laureates of Israel’s prestigious Wolf Prize. Souto de Moura is being honored for his achievements in architecture while other prizes are given to scientists in the fields of physics, mathematics, chemistry, and agriculture.

Eduardo Souto de Moura (Photo: Roberto Santorini)

Click above image to view slideshow
Eduardo Souto de Moura (Photo: Roberto Santorini)

The Wolf Prize has been awarded annually since 1978 by the Israel-based Wolf Foundation. Scientists winning the Wolf Prize are often hot contenders for the Nobel Prize.

The list of previous prize winners in the field of architecture includes David Chipperfield (2010), Peter Eisenman (2010), Jean Nouvel (2005), Alvaro Siza (2001), and Frank Gehry (1992) among others.

Israel's President Shimon Peres will award the prizes in Jerusalem in May.

Featured Competitions:
Register: May 25 / Submit: Jul 13
Register: Jul 6 / Submit: Jul 30
Register/Submit: Sep 1
Register: Sep 30 / Submit: Oct 21

Search News by Keyword: