Facebook Twitter Pinterest
AIA New York 2013 Design Awards - Call for Entries
Register/Submit: Saturday, February 02, 2013


The four categories for AIA New York Chapter Design Awards are

  • Architecture
  • Interiors
  • Urban Design
  • Projects

Work submitted in the Architecture and Interiors categories must be completed. In the Urban Design category, work may be in any state of process or completion. The Projects category recognizes conceptual work, including but not limited to landscape design, land art, research, architectural objects, installations, and un-built projects. Projects undertaken for academic credit are not eligible. Responses to competitions will be considered.

Judging Criteria

We strongly encourage submissions which reflect a broad and inclusive definition of design excellence. As submissions are subject to varying degrees of opportunity, constraint, and budget, each entry is judged for the success with which the submission has met its individual requirements. Submissions must exhibit design achievement that demonstrates exemplary skill and creativity in the resolution and integration of formal, functional, and technical requirements, including ecological stewardship and social responsibility. Submissions should also reflect a strong sense of place, of history, or of purpose as an integral part of the demonstrated design excellence.

Submissions may be exemplary in the following areas (including, but not limited to):

Best of Typology, including outstanding achievement in building type (i.e. education, affordable housing, justice, healthcare, community facility, historic preservation, etc.)

Technical advancement, which includes engineering achievements (i.e. structural, mechanical, transportation, computer, etc.) as well as innovative use of materials and urban systems

Innovation and Research, including work investigating design advocacy, cross-discipline research, pilot projects, public service, and theoretical propositions

Preservation/restoration, including the demonstration of exemplary skill, sensitivity, and thoroughness in preservation, restoration, or adaptive reuse and/or sensitive reinforcement of successful historical development patterns

Sustainability, including demonstrated achievements in high performance and/or energy reduction goals set forth by the AIA Sustainable Architectural Practice Position Statement and 2030 Challenge (see www.aia.org/sustainability and www.architecture2030.org), including exploration of new approaches to ecological planning, collection, storage, and distribution of renewable resources and energies, and improvement to quality of life and the environment

Schedule 2013

1 February 6:00pm Submission Deadline
4 March 6:00pm Winners Announced at Design Awards Jury Symposium
10 April 11:30am Honors and Awards Luncheon at Cipriani, Wall Street
11 April 6:00pm Design Awards Exhibition Opening


Featured Competitions:
Register/Submit: May 11
Register: Feb 14 / Submit: Feb 15
Register/Submit: Apr 4
Register/Submit: Feb 22
Register/Submit: Mar 31
Register/Submit: Feb 29
Register/Submit: Apr 1
Register: Feb 12 / Submit: Feb 19
Register: Mar 4 / Submit: Mar 30
Register/Submit: Apr 29

Search Competitions by Keyword: