Facebook Twitter Pinterest
ASLA 2011 Student Awards Call for Entries
Register: Friday, May 06, 2011
Submit: Friday, May 20, 2011

ASLA has released its 2011 professional and student awards call for entries. Award recipients receive featured coverage in the October issue of Landscape Architecture magazine and in many other design and construction industry and general-interest media. Award recipients, their clients, and student advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego, October 30 – November 2, 2011. The award winning projects will be featured in a video presentation at the ceremony and on the awards website following the event.

The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions.  Members of the professional awards jury are:

• David Yocca, FASLA, Jury Chair, Conservation Design Forum, Elmhurst, IL
• Robert Campbell, FAIA, The Boston Globe
• Mark Hough, ASLA, Duke University, Durham, NC
• Ilze Jones, FASLA, Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects, Ltd, Seattle
• Elizabeth Meyer, FASLA, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
• Laurie Olin, FASLA, OLIN, Philadelphia
• Pamela Palmer, ASLA, ARTECHO, Venice, CA
• Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA, Ten Eyck Landscape Architects, Phoenix
• Alex Washburn, AIA, Chief Urban Designer, New York City Department of City Planning
• William H. Tishler, FASLA, representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will join the jury for selection of The Landmark Award.

Members of the student awards jury convening in June 2011 includes:

• Mario Nievera, ASLA, Jury Chair, Mario Nievera Design, Palm Beach, FL, and New York City
• Thomas Balsley, FASLA, Thomas Balsley Associates, New York City
• Gary A. Brown, FASLA, University of Wisconsin—Madison
• James Burnett, FASLA, The Office of James Burnett, Houston
• Shane Coen, ASLA, Coen+Partners, Minneapolis
• Diane Dale, FASLA, William McDonough + Partners, Charlottesville, VA
• M. Elen Deming, ASLA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
• John King, Hon. ASLA, San Francisco Chronicle, San Francisco
• Karen Phillips, FASLA, New York City Planning Commission

The ASLA awards program features six categories: General Design; Residential Design; Analysis and Planning; Research, co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture; Communications; and The Landmark Award, co-sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The student awards program also features the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories. 

Entry forms and payment must be received by:

• Friday, February 25, 2011, for Professional Awards
• Friday, May 6, 2011, for Student Awards

Submission binders must be received by:

• Friday, March 11, 2011, for Professional Awards
• Friday, May 20, 2011, for Student Awards

In need of inspiration? View the ASLA 2010 Professional and Student award-winning projects. 

new york
Thursday, September 15, 2011
The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has announced the winners of the 2011 Student Awards.


Featured Competitions:
Register/Submit: Feb 22
Register: Feb 12 / Submit: Feb 19
Register/Submit: Apr 1
Register/Submit: Apr 29
Register/Submit: Apr 4
Register/Submit: Feb 29
Register/Submit: Mar 31
Register/Submit: May 11
Register: Feb 14 / Submit: Feb 15
Register: Apr 23 / Submit: May 8
Register: Mar 4 / Submit: Mar 30
Register/Submit: Mar 15

Search Competitions by Keyword: