Facebook Twitter Pinterest
News & Results:
Search News:


Seven category winners for Designs of the Year 2014

Posted: Wednesday, April 23, 2014
This year's Designs of the Year jury have chosen their crème de la crème of the world's most cutting-edge design. Since London's Design Museum announced the 76 nominees in February, the competition has narrowed down to seven category winners. They are: Architecture: HEYDAR…

Richard Serra is the first artist to receive the President’s Medal from the Architectural League NY

Posted: Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Known for his large-scale sheet-metal sculptures, Richard Serra will be the first artist to receive the President's Medal from the Architectural League of New York. As the highest honor from the League, the Medal is presented by the organization's president and Board of Directors to an…

“Unfinished Spaces” documentary receives 2014 SAH Award for Film and Video

Posted: Friday, April 18, 2014
Unfinished Spaces by Alysa Nahmias and Benjamin Murray continues to gain recognition since its initial release in 2011. In addition to previous grants and awards, the documentary film recently won the 2014 Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) Award for Film and Video at the 2014 Annual…

Wheelwright Prize 2014 finalists announced

Posted: Monday, April 14, 2014
Seven finalists have been announced for the Wheelwright Prize 2014. Established by Harvard GSD in 1935, the prize awards a $100,000 travel-based research grant to an early-career architect worldwide whose proposal best conveys original, scholarly, and professional design. Since 2013, the prize is applicable to any architect…

American Academy in Rome Announces the 2014-2015 Rome Prize Winners

Posted: Monday, April 14, 2014
The American Academy in Rome has announced the winners of the 118th annual Rome Prize Competition at a festive ceremony in New York City. Winners of the prestigious prize will receive a fellowship, which includes a stipend and live/working space, and are invited to live in…

Ten recipients for the 2014 AIA Housing Awards

Posted: Tuesday, April 08, 2014
There's no place like a good home, simple as that. The AIA announced 10 recipients for the 2014 Housing Awards, which promotes the value of good housing and excellence in housing design. The jury gave awards in four categories: One/Two Family Custom Housing, One/Two Family Production…

Finalists announced for the Passive House Award 2014

Posted: Friday, April 04, 2014
In recent news for efficient and cost-effective design, the finalists of the Passive House Award 2014 were announced. Hosted by the Passive House Institute in Germany, the annual award recognizes projects that offer innovative passive house solutions. The international jury selected finalists in six categories out…

Raymond Moriyama and RAIC announce $100K Canadian prize for world’s best building

Posted: Thursday, April 03, 2014
There's a new architecture prize in town and it's loaded. The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) Foundation and distinguished Canadian architect Raymond Moriyama announced today the launch of the Moriyama RAIC International Prize, a biennial award for the best building or project in the…

Winning projects of the 2014 U.S. Wood Design Awards

Posted: Friday, March 28, 2014
The winners of the WoodWorks 2014 U.S. Wood Design Awards sure know how to prove wood as a versatile material in architecture. Out of 140 entries -- the most the competition has ever received -- the jury selected nine of the most outstanding projects in wood architecture.…

Shigeru Ban named as 2014 Pritzker Prize Laureate

Posted: Monday, March 24, 2014
Japanese architect Shigeru Ban has been announced as the 2014 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Established by the Pritzker family of Chicago in 1979, the prestigious award is widely regarded as "the Nobel Prize" in the architecture profession. Shigeru Ban will be the seventh Japanese…

News Tags:

Search News by Keyword: