Facebook Twitter Pinterest
News & Results:
Search News:

tag:/Pritzker Prize

Frei Otto named as 2015 Pritzker Prize laureate, one day after his untimely death

Posted: Tuesday, March 10, 2015
In an impromptu announcement, the late German architect Frei Otto was revealed as the 2015 Pritzker Prize laureate. Established by the Pritzker family of Chicago in 1979, the prestigious prize is regarded as "the Nobel Prize" in the architecture profession. Best known for his lightweight structural style and…

Shigeru Ban named as 2014 Pritzker Prize Laureate

Posted: Monday, March 24, 2014
Japanese architect Shigeru Ban has been announced as the 2014 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Established by the Pritzker family of Chicago in 1979, the prestigious award is widely regarded as "the Nobel Prize" in the architecture profession. Shigeru Ban will be the seventh Japanese…

Toyo Ito’s Pritzker Prize Acceptance Speech

Posted: Friday, May 31, 2013
Earlier this year in March, it was announced that Japanese architect Toyo Ito would join the ranks of the architecture Gods and be honored with the 2013 Pritzker Architecture Prize. Last night now at a festive ceremony in Boston's John F. Kennedy Library and Museum, he finally received…

Toyo Ito Wins 2013 Pritzker Prize

Posted: Monday, March 18, 2013
Japanese architect Toyo Ito has been named the recipient of the 2013 Pritzker Architecture Prize, widely regarded as the profession's highest honor. Ito, 71, is the sixth Japanese architect to become a Pritzker Laureate – the first five being the late Kenzo Tange in 1987, Fumihiko Maki…

Pritzker Winner Eduardo Souto de Moura Honored with Israel’s Prestigious Wolf Prize

Posted: Thursday, January 03, 2013
Portuguese architect and 2011 Pritzker Prize winner Eduardo Souto de Moura was announced today as one of this year's laureates of Israel’s prestigious Wolf Prize. Souto de Moura is being honored for his achievements in architecture while other prizes are given to scientists in the fields…

2012 Pritzker Prize Goes to Wang Shu

Posted: Monday, February 27, 2012
Chinese architect Wang Shu is the 2012 laureate of the Pritzker Prize, architecture’s highest honor. The 48 year old architect whose practice Amateur Architecture Studio is based in Hangzhou, The People’s Republic of China, was announced today by Thomas J. Pritzker, chairman of The Hyatt Foundation which sponsors the…

Portuguese Architect Eduardo Souto de Moura Wins 2011 Pritzker Prize

Posted: Monday, March 28, 2011
Eduardo Souto de Moura from Porto, Portugal is the 2011 laureate of the Pritzker Prize, the professions highest honor. As a young architect, from 1974 to 1979, the now 58-year-old, worked in Alvaro Siza's office -- Siza having been the Pritzker Prize winner himself in 1992. This makes Moura…


Posted: Sunday, March 28, 2010
From Archinect: I’m happy to report that the Japanese duo of Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa have taken the 2010 Pritzker Prize. The pair was given the Pritzker Prize by the Hyatt Foundation in Chicago. They will share the $100,000 prize,…


Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009
Peter Zumthor of Switzerland has been chosen as the 2009 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. The formal ceremony for what has come to be known throughout the world as architecture’s highest honor will be held on May 29 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. At that time, a $100,000 grant and…

News Tags:

Search News by Keyword: