Facebook Twitter Pinterest
News & Results:
Search News:


Frei Otto named as 2015 Pritzker Prize laureate, one day after his untimely death

Posted: Tuesday, March 10, 2015
In an impromptu announcement, the late German architect Frei Otto was revealed as the 2015 Pritzker Prize laureate. Established by the Pritzker family of Chicago in 1979, the prestigious prize is regarded as "the Nobel Prize" in the architecture profession. Best known for his lightweight structural style and…

David Chipperfield to receive 2015 Sikkens Prize in Amsterdam this month

Posted: Tuesday, March 03, 2015
David Chipperfield was recently announced as the 36th recipient of the 2015 Sikkens Prize. Established in 1960, the biennial Sikkens Prize is one of the oldest independent art prizes in The Netherlands and honors its creative laureates for their innovative use of color. The award reflects the…

Alessandro Mendini receives the latest European Prize for Architecture

Posted: Monday, February 16, 2015
The 2014 European Prize for Architecture went to iconic Italian architect and designer Alessandro Mendini, known for projects like the Groninger Museum in the Netherlands, the Paradise Tower in Hiroshima, and the Proust Armchair, among several others. Regarded as one of Europe's highest architecture awards, the…

Architectural patron Jane Priestman wins inaugural Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Posted: Thursday, February 05, 2015
The Architects' Journal reported today that architectural patron and "visionary" client Jane Priestman was awarded the inaugural Ada Louise Huxtable Prize. Launched earlier this year, the lifetime achievement award recognizes non-architects who have contributed greatly to the architectural profession and are also regarded as having a lasting…

David M. Schwarz wins the 2015 Richard H. Driehaus Prize

Posted: Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Architect David M. Schwarz of David M. Schwarz Architects was named as the 2015 recipient of the Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame. Established in 2003, the $200,000 prize honors a living architect's work that has created positive cultural, environmental, and artistic impact…

420 projects nominated for the Mies Van der Rohe 2015 Award

Posted: Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Competition is already running high as expected for the Mies van der Rohe Award 2015 - European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture. A total of 420 projects will go head-to-head for the prestigious €60,000 prize. Established in 1987 by the European Commission and the Barcelona City Hall, the biennial…

Kathryn Gustafson wins 8th Obayashi Prize

Posted: Friday, November 21, 2014
Landscape architect Kathryn Gustafson of Seattle-based Gustafson Guthrie Nichol and London's Gustafson Porter recently received the eighth annual Obayashi Prize in Tokyo. Established by the Obayashi Foundation, the prize is awarded to a recipient whose work is in tune with the Foundation's mission of supporting…

Restoration of Alvar Aalto’s Viipuri Library wins 2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

Posted: Tuesday, November 04, 2014
The Finnish Committee for the Restoration of the Viipuri Library with the Central City Alvar Aalto Library in Vyborg recently won the 2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize for restoring Alvar Aalto's historic Viipuri Library in Vyborg, Russia. Established in 2008, the prize is awarded biennially…

Álvaro Siza and Herzog & de Meuron win first Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize in Chicago

Posted: Thursday, October 23, 2014
In a large evening benefit dinner at IIT College of Architecture's S. R. Crown Hall in Chicago last night, Álvaro Siza and Herzog & de Meuron were announced as the winners of the inaugural Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP). Established by IIT architecture…

2014 Berkeley-Rupp Prize awarded to Sheila Kennedy of KVA MATx

Posted: Monday, September 15, 2014
Sheila Kennedy — a principal of architecture firm KVA MATx and the first woman to hold the title of Professor of the Practice of Architecture at MIT’s School of Architecture & Planning — was announced today as the 2014 recipient of the Berkeley-Rupp Prize.  Awarded every two…

News Tags:

Search News by Keyword: