Facebook Twitter Pinterest
News & Results:
Search News:


Zaha Hadid joins the ranks of RIBA Gold Medalists: “We will continue this progress”

Posted: Thursday, February 04, 2016
Following RIBA's announcement back in September, Zaha Hadid was presented with the 2016 Royal Gold Medal yesterday evening. Awarded since 1848 and approved by the Queen of England, the Royal Gold Medal recognizes a lifetime's work of an architecturally influential person or group. Though particular projects in her practice…

PennDesign dean + former SOM partner Marilyn Jordan Taylor joins RIBA International Prize Jury

Posted: Monday, February 01, 2016
The Royal Institute of British Architects is gearing up for the inaugural RIBA International Prize, which will deem a project as the world's best new building of the year. No need to be British — the prize is open to all architects worldwide. Submissions are due February 9,…

“Creation from Catastrophe” at RIBA explores the possibilities of post-disaster design

Posted: Thursday, January 28, 2016
One of the first hopeful signs that things are picking up again after disaster strikes a city is the rebuilding of structures. As difficult as the aftermath may be, disasters become an opportunity for architects and communities to figure out new ways to design and build. In this spirit,…

RIBA launches International Prize for world’s best new building, Richard Rogers to chair Grand Jury

Posted: Tuesday, December 08, 2015
RIBA is establishing their own award for the world's best new building of the year, naming it the RIBA International Prize. Launched today, the International Prize will be awarded to the building that best exemplifies innovative thinking and stellar design execution, while also creating positive social impact to its…

Winners of the RIBA 2015 President’s Medals Student Awards

Posted: Tuesday, December 08, 2015
First awarded in 1836, the RIBA President's Medal Student Awards are considered to be one of the highest accolades in architectural education. Aiming to incite global architectural debate, the program attracts the crème de la crème of research projects by Architecture I and II graduate students, who are then…

A closer look at the Flint House, the 2015 RIBA House of the Year

Posted: Monday, November 30, 2015
Built atop the flint-surfaced landscape of the Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire, the Skene Catling De La Peña-designed Flint House won the RIBA House of the Year award for 2015. The project was announced as the winner during the "Grand Designs: RIBA House of the Year" TV series on…

Four houses currently shortlisted for RIBA House of the Year 2015

Posted: Monday, November 16, 2015
RIBA has already revealed the first four houses shortlisted for the recently renamed House of the Year award. Formerly called the Manser Medal, the House of the Year award still carries the same purpose of distinguishing the year's most innovative house designed by a UK-based architect. Since…

Niall McLaughlin Architects’ Fishing Hut wins the 2015 Stephen Lawrence Prize

Posted: Friday, October 16, 2015
RIBA made a slew of winning announcements during their annual Stirling Prize party in London yesterday evening. In addition to the winning announcements for the prestigious Stirling Prize and Client of the Year, RIBA announced the Fishing Hut by London-based Niall McLaughlin Architects as the winning project…

RIBA announces the National Theatre in London as the 2015 Client of the Year

Posted: Thursday, October 15, 2015
In another announcement from RIBA during their 2015 Stirling Prize party today, the National Theatre in London won the 2015 Client of the Year award. Every year, RIBA honors exemplary clients who have contributed to developing examples of "fine architecture" within the United Kingdom. The National…

It’s 2015, and Zaha Hadid is the first woman to win RIBA’s Royal Gold Medal

Posted: Wednesday, September 23, 2015
RIBA announced the one and only Zaha Hadid as the recipient of the 2016 RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture. Interestingly enough (but not too surprisingly), Hadid is also the one and only female architect to win the prestigious award in her own right. Awarded since 1848 and approved…

Featured Competitions:
decode_date('%Y-%m-%d %g:%i %A', $LOC->now); ?>
Register/Submit: Mar 31
Register: Apr 23 / Submit: May 8
Register/Submit: May 11
Register/Submit: Feb 22
Register: Feb 14 / Submit: Feb 15
Register: Mar 4 / Submit: Mar 30
Register/Submit: Feb 29
Register: Feb 12 / Submit: Feb 19
Register/Submit: Mar 15
Register/Submit: Apr 1
Register/Submit: Apr 4
Register/Submit: Apr 29

Search News by Keyword: